top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Victor Agius - TERRAE

I admit that ceramics have never been my thing. I’m not talking about utilitarian objects like mugs and bowls.I mean the purely decorative kind. Having said that, Victor’s work has always intrigued me.


So when I received his invitation to the opening of Terrae at Iniala5 Gallery in Valletta, I thought it was time to open my eyes and mind to look at ceramics like I look at paintings. I love abstraction - so why limit my love to abstract paintings?


Unfortunately, for the opening event I was in Sicily but when I finally made it to Valletta last Saturday I was doubly compensated for missing out. For one, the gallery was quiet at the time of my visit and I was able to take in the exhibition at my own pace without having to make room for other people; and Victor happened to be there as well, his usual passionate self, ever so willing to talk about his work.


Victor hails from Gozo, and his work is not only inspired by his island but manifests his intense connection to it. He lives and works close to Gozo's neolithic temple and burial sites and through his work he has always been expressing this proximity to Gozo's ancient history.


He uses Gozo clay, Gozo's rich red ochre soil and anything else the island is willing to give up from its geological riches. We can also find a variety of other organic materials, like roots and twigs, incorporated in his works.


What gives this exhibition an extra dimension is that it also includes some of Victor's works on paper, paintings and drawings, that help us to understand the process he goes through to produce his ceramic sculptures. In fact, getting this insight in his working process makes it even clearer that the final pieces are the result of a long and meticulous preparation, often including experimentation with unpredictable outcomes. I realise now that seeing his creative methods documented in this way was what made me look at his work with new eyes.


What at first glance appears fortuitous, becomes a carefully constructed and delicately balanced piece of art on closer inspection. Victor's works are abstract, yet organic. The colour palette of his glazes is extensive with tones that remind us of the rich red soil of Gozo or the sun-bleached countryside and the hazy skies of the Gozo summer. My personal favourite though is one piece that did not fit into this last category; it is the piece in black and gold, audacious and powerful - the one that dares to be different.


I have added a lot of photos for you to get a better idea of what I am talking about; but I suggest you go and see for yourself if you have the chance. The exhibition was extended till 5th May and will incorporate a performance event on Wednesday 2nd May.

Photos were taken by Bennard Buttigieg, Iniala5 Gallery and myself.



If you won't make it on time to the beautiful Iniala5 Gallery in Valletta, you can find Victor on Facebook or contact him via his website.

If you are in Gozo, his studio is not far from the Ggantija Temple site in Xaghra.

Photos were taken by Bennard Buttigieg, Iniala5 Gallery and myself.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page